Lee-Fendall House
  • Built by Philip Richard Fendall in 1785 on land purchased from Henry (Light Horse Harry) Lee.
  • From 1785 until 1903, the house served as the home to thirty-seven members of the Lee family.
  • The Lee-Fendall House is an architecturally stunning house with premier decorative arts and archival collections.
  • Now restored to its early Victorian elegance, the house is interpreted as a Lee family home of the 1850-1870 period
  • Marked by John Alexander Chapter in 1975

Lee-Fendall House

Lee-Fendall Interior

Lee-Fendall Marker  

The text of the marking is as follows:

LEE-FENDALL HOUSE

BUILT BY PHILIP RICHARD FENDALL IN 1785 ON LAND PURCHASED FROM HENRY (LIGHT HORSE HARRY) LEE. LEE WAS A BRILLIANT CAVALARY OFFICER IN THE REVOLUTION, CLOSE FRIEND OF GEORGE WASHINGTON, VIRGINIA ASSEMBLYMAN, MEMBER OF CONGRESS AND GOVERNOR OF VIRGINIA. BORN 1756, DIED 1818. HIS ASHES LIE IN THE CHAPEL CRYPT AT WASHINGTON AND LEE UNIVERSITY BESIDE HIS SON, ROBERT E. LEE.

PLACED BY
JOHN ALEXANDER CHAPTER
NATIONAL SOCIETY DAUGHTER OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION
1975

 
Return to Markers

 


Web hyperlinks to non-DAR sites are not the responsibility of the NSDAR, the state organizations, or individual DAR chapters.
Contact our Webmaster for any issues about our site.
Last updated March 1, 2010